Invisible Grief

miscarriage

After I had my son, I was eager to have another baby.  I loved being a Mother and wanted another little one.  People give birth every day but, when I carried my son for 9 months and gave birth to him, held him and cared for him I felt like a Goddess.  There is no life experience that can top giving birth.  It was amazing.  The second I knew I was pregnant with him my whole life changed.  I was fully blown away that I carried a tiny life inside me….he was never far from my thoughts from day one and remains there to this day.

We started trying a year after he was born.  I became pregnant within a couple of months and began loving that baby immediately the same way I did with my son.  I began to daydream about my future with this baby…thinking of names…wondering if it was a boy or a girl.  I was thrilled.

At 12 weeks I began to bleed.  I felt like I was in shock.  I was in denial.  I kept telling myself my baby would be fine.  When I went to the Doctor and he couldn’t detect a heartbeat I went numb.  I called and told my then husband.  I went home to my son and held him.  We had told everyone I was pregnant and now, we had to tell everyone we weren’t.  It was like the dream I was in came to a screeching halt.  I took a week off from work and didn’t answer the phone or the door.  I just focused on taking care of my son…..he was one…he had no idea.  He was the only person who I didn’t have to talk about it to.

The loss was so deeply personal.  I didn’t want words of encouragement.  I didn’t want to be held.  I didn’t want to be comforted.  There was no way anyone could understand the depth of my grief.  I was grieving a little person that no one had ever met.  I was grieving a tiny life that only I knew.

After about a week, I was able to return to life.  My family was angry because I didn’t let them in….I just couldn’t.  I needed time to grieve by myself.  I went back to work and had to tell people that I had lost my baby.  One person told me to get a dog.  A lot of people don’t understand the loss felt by miscarriage.  It is difficult to understand losing something that never really was.

I went on to lose two more pregnancies after that and those losses were a little easier.  When I finally got pregnant with my daughter, I was terrified I would lose her.  I gave birth to her on the Fourth of July.  I didn’t find out the sex of either one of my babies because I believe that to be one of life’s greatest and most wonderful surprises.  When the Doctor told us it was a girl and handed my beautiful Daughter to me I had no name picked out.  After my first miscarriage I stopped planning so much.

I took one look at her, and knew her name would be Katherine.  She was strong, beautiful, regal  and still is to this day.  ,

My feelings of love I felt with each one of my pregnancies the moment I found out I was pregnant was deeply personal.  Carrying a baby is the most amazing feeling in the world.  I cherished every second of it.  I cherish every second I now have with those two beautiful people I gave life to.

So, to all those beautiful women out there who have lost their babies to miscarriage I send love and understanding.  You feel so alone in that particular form of grief but, you are not.  Your grief is real.  Reach out and let someone hold you.  Cry.  Feel what you need to feel.  Let people love you.  They may not understand but, let them love you.

53 thoughts on “Invisible Grief

  1. Wow…simply, wow. You have written so eloquently about a life (lives) that brought you to your knees in both despair, and love. I simply cannot imagine the torment of it. I do know the torment of not being blessed to ever conceive a child, but not the loss of one. I know the torment of losing a husband and while it was the hardest thing I have ever been through, it is still vastly different (in my estimation anyway) from the loss of someone who you carried and nurtured from within.

    God bless you and the strength he has given you…may He protect you and your family. Thank you for sharing, touched me deeply. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. My eyes teared up reading your post. You probably won’t have many men commenting here but I wanted to share that losing a little one is devastating, even for the man. We experience it differently for sure but it is a loss you never forget.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. You’ve written this sounding so easy, as if it was something people talk about every day, while I assume that you’ve been crying through the whole post, crying after the first comment and probably starting to cry once again now 🙂 I always imagine those babies waiting for their mothers somewhere in heaven or watching over them. There must be some deeper sense in such a pain. I hope one day it turns out I was right. People like you deserve guardian angels for being so special. Love, your blog-daughter B.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Bless you for having the strength to write openly about this. Mine happened when i was 27. I made the difficult decision to have my tubes tied along with endometrial ablation.i could never bear going through that again. Sadly I also have a rare blood disorder that makes any pregnancy far too risky. I’m thankful you didn’t give up and have your precious children. With love from Chicago. ..

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a beautifully written piece Trisha, so sorry that you experienced this. I have too, twice, between Lil Man and Lil Princess… The first, I remember we were in a hotel. It had been Hubby’s Christmas party the night before… I was talking to my uncle in the phone who for some reason had been calling early that morning from Kenya. I felt wetness and though I didn’t want to panic anyone, I had to get off the phone… It was awful, as we had tried for years for our first, and this pregnancy happened after an op that I needed, leaving me with one ovary. I was convinced it was a miracle pregnancy, and now… It was no more… As I fell pregnant again, I went to a clairvoyant. She told me she could see someone, describing a cousin of mine who had passed away… He was holding a baby. She said his message to me was that I shouldn’t worry, baby was fine with him… I lost the next, soon after too. But this lady mentioned a Pub near us, that I never went to, and that it held some significance. Later the connection became apparent, as I fell pregnant with Lil Princess the only night I ever went there… But those two twinkles of mine are never forgotten…. Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s amazing how many women experience it but, it is never spoken about and given the importance that it so deserves. I am sorry for your loss. We have a connection few truly understand xoxoxoxo!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know…it is so hidden away almost… Why, I don’t know… In the Indian community they are notorious for not talking about these things… When I miscarried I got a call from a cousin who was older, and had also experienced it, and wanted to comfort me, but was adamant that I not mention the fact that she had lost a baby to anyone else… It was the same with when I was diagnosed with PCOS… I was pretty open about it, if anyone asked when we were going to start a family… But I guess my big mouth was a good thing, as my conversation with 2 girls I knew led them to get checked and be diagnosed too… They both have 2 kids each now, but how long would they have gone, trying with no luck, if we hadn’t chatted…

        Liked by 1 person

      • Grief in general is not talked about enough here in the US. If your Mother, husband, wife, sister, brother child or Father dies they give you 3 bereavement days and then expect you to return to work. That is why I open up about the things I do….to let people know they are not alone.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sorry, officially for the loss of a loved one for weeks, until after the funeral, you are expected to be at home, if it was a close relative… And work will give leave to an extend, but if you want to grieve for the loss of a little angel, who hadn’t been born yet, the support network just isn’t there…

        Liked by 1 person

      • In the US grief is an inconvenience for your co-workers…very sad….a miscarriage is not a reason to miss work here. One person admonished me for being sad because I was lucky enough to already have one child.

        Liked by 1 person

      • with so much grief in our worlds we often move on when we should stay still and be with the grief.
        My grief is so profound right now over so much I have to disappear some times just to keep my head above water. That’s why I write about solitude for that is where I reclaim myself, giving me the strength to poke my head out again and try again. I wonder how you do it?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I try to keep a focus on what I do have, I cherish my time i had with my Grandmother and the time i now have with my kidsa and nieces and I help people who need it. Helping others is extremely cathartic as is writing and connecting with like minded people who share similar experiences.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I agree with you. For me I have been so private all my life I have not shared me and my life with anyone. What a way to come out and share on a blog. This experience has so much been about people like you. Opening up so much has left me somewhat vulnerable and scared but I must forge forward and stay tuned into the good. Thanks Trish. You share in such a lovely way.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I have not experienced what u felt but now I can understand what my mom went through. She lost a child in her 3rd trimester, the baby was completely developed but she didn’t have the courage to look at her (yes it was a girl) as she would never forget that face. My grandmother saw & told she was the most beautiful little thing she ever saw.
    Thank you sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. A good share of my blogs center on this and importantly that no one is doing squat. When asked about MLK Day, I responded that I didn’t think it did anyone and I love MLK and what he stood for. But as you said, the dubious media types want to get their holier than thou grills on the boob tube to get a lot of money. Don’t be honest and ask the right questions. This got really bad since Nixon and they are far worse these days.

    Awesome blog!@

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thank you for this post. I had three miscarriages. My first daughter was a normal pregnancy and she was born fine. I became pregnant when she was 4.

    I carried that one for 5 months and then miscarried. Due to the fact that the pregnancy was so far along, I almost bled to death and had to have life saving surgery. I still have PTSD from all the blood, and the terrible icy cold treatment at the hospital. They were not compassionate.

    Then I had another miscarriage a few years later, probably due to anxiety over being married to a narcissist.

    Then I had my second baby and she was fine ! Thank goodness. So, I have 2 beautiful daughters that I am very happy to have.

    The third miscarriage was a few years ago. I was not with my husband. It was a person that was abusive and that was probably the reason for the miscarriage.

    These things stay with you. Thank you for your compassionate post.
    Annie

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am so sorry that that happened to you…it’s such a hard thing to go thru and something that only someone has gone through would understand. ..I posted that so someone might read it and feel comforted…less alone. Xoxo.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment