My Gary #LoveWins

lovewins

When I was 16, I met Gary.  He had a wicked sense of humor and me and my three sisters immediately fell in love with him.  He had a way of making me laugh when my life was in a shambles and listening when I needed him to.  As we got to know him, we found out that he did not know his biological Dad.  His Mom was a hardworking loveable woman who was openly gay so, Gary always lived a life filled with the love of many of his Mom’s lesbian friends.

Our friendship lasted through the years with so many good memories and laughter and loving support.  When Gary was 30 he sat me down to tell me something serious.  He told me he was gay with a terrified look in his eyes.  My response was to giggle and tell him that we all already knew.  The thought that even before he told us, we accepted him with open arms, made our friendship even stronger.

Our lives went on….marriage…kids.  Gary found the love of his life and called him his husband long before the conversation of gay marriage came up.  He wore a beautiful ring on his ring finger that he received on a cruise to Italy.  He was happy and in love.

About 7 years ago Gary died suddenly.  The void in my life will never be filled.  He was one in a million.  I think of him often and miss him terrible.  I cried today with the news of the supreme court decision.  I wish he was here to celebrate.

Love wins, Gary…..Love wins!

15 thoughts on “My Gary #LoveWins

Leave a comment