We Have To Believe

IMG_20141129_231346

We have to believe in love.  We have to practice it every day, with our family and friends and with strangers.  Being a Nurse, has given me the honor of giving love as my profession.  To look into someones eyes and let them know that they are not alone is an honor.  It is an honor that I have embraced since 1987 when I passed my Nursing boards.

I have held the hands of the dying.  I have brushed away tears.  I have kissed so many foreheads and cheeks.  I have shed tears with my patients and their loved ones.  I have gone beyond the call of duty to let people know that there are selfless people in the world.  I have been the one to listen to the fears, regrets, and dreams that will never come true.  I reassure.  I comfort.  I touch their face with tenderness.  I help them let go.  I give them peace.  I tell the families of the love for them we have spoke of when they are gone.  I pass on the love to them with my eyes.  Those are the most beautiful moments I have ever experienced in my life.  To comfort the survivors with words of love that they will treasure forever.

It is my tiny contribution to the world.  It is my calling.

My reward is just knowing I made a difference.  There is no more beautiful feeling than that.  I will never be famous.  I will go unnoticed, except to those whose hearts I have touched.

Love is the answer.  I know this.

Love is the answer.

23 thoughts on “We Have To Believe

  1. Just think of how many lives you have touched and what a blessing a simple hand-squeeze, forehead kiss or kind word can be to someone who is in need. Clearly God put you in the right profession. We just never know how much the ‘little things’ can impact another. What you do for a living is tough and I, for one, applaud you and thank you! My sister is in the same field so I know how hard you work… God bless you Trish! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You work in such a critical and under-appreciated field! Many times its not even the medical knowledge that is so critical but the empathy and human touch that you project. Kudos to you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment